Learning in ‘bitesized’ chunks!


Key Stage 4 (KS4)

This phase of education represents the following group of pupils:
  • Ages 14-16 (Years 10-11)
All pupils in this Key Stage must follow the National Curriculum programme of education in the following areas of study:   
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Information & Communication Technology (England only)
  • Physical Education
  • Careers Education
  • Religious Education
  • Citizenship
  • Sex Education
  • Work-related learning
  • Welsh (Wales only)

Key Stage 4 Assessment

At the end of Key Stage 4, pupils aged 16 (Year 11) are assessed as part of the standardised National Curriculum assessment programme. Students sit for a range of external exams including the GCSE (General Certificate of Secondary Education). Others may include the NVQ (National Vocational Qualifications).  
All National Curriculum information can be viewed on the following National Curriculum website: