Learning in ‘bitesized’ chunks!


Key Stage 3 (KS3)

This phase of education represents the following group of pupils:
  • Ages 11-14 (Years 7-9)
All pupils in this Key Stage must follow the National Curriculum programme of education in the following 15 areas of study:   
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • History
  • Geography
  • Modern Foreign Language
  • Information & Communication Technology 
  • Design Technology
  • Art and Design
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Citizenship
  • Religious Education
  • Sex Education
  • Career Education
  • Welsh (Wales only)

Key Stage 3 Assessment

At the end of Key Stage 3, pupils aged 14 (Year 9) are assessed as part of the standardised National Curriculum assessment programme. This is known as the SATs and cover the areas of English,
Mathematics and Science, also in the non-core subjects, such as geography, art and music.
You will be advised of your child’s results.  These results will assist your teacher in determining where your child is at for his or her age/ year level and if they require extra help in any area.  
All National Curriculum information can be viewed on the following National Curriculum website: