Learning in ‘bitesized’ chunks!


Key Stage 1 (KS1)

This phase of education represents the following group of pupils:
  • Ages 5-7 (Years 1-2)
All pupils in this Key Stage must follow the National Curriculum programme of education in the following 10 areas of study:   
  • English language
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Information & Communication Technology
  • History
  • Geography
  • Design Technology
  • Art and Design
  • Physical Education
  • Music
In addition, Religious Education is also a mandatory subject, although some schools are not required to follow the non-statutory framework set out in the National Curriculum.

Year 1 Phonics Screening Check

As part of this Key Stage, a phonics screening check will take place in June of your child’s school year. This check will take the form of your child having to read 40 words out loud to a teacher.
You will be advised as to how your child has performed.  This will assist you and your child’s teacher in determining whether he or she needs extra help with their reading.
If your child doesn’t reach the required level, he or she will need to perform this screening check again in Year 2.  

Key Stage 1 Assessment

At the end of Key Stage 1, pupils aged 7 (Year 2) are assessed as part of the standardised National Curriculum assessment programme. This is known as the SATs and cover the areas of English, Maths and Science.  
These results, class work and homework will assist your child’s teacher to determine what level your child is at in each area of study compared to the average student of similar age and year level.  
All National Curriculum information can be viewed on the following National Curriculum website: